An Introduction to Chakra Balancing

Share this blog

Chakra balancing is a process of clearing stagnation and bringing the chakras to flow at a healthy rate. Explore the causes of chakra blockages and tips to heal the 7 main chakras.
Chakra for Beginners - Chakra Meditation - Chakra Healing

What are Chakras?

Chakras are our centers of consciousness. They hold the energy of our thoughts, emotions, experiences, and memories. The energy stored in your chakras manifests your experiences. Your body is also a manifestation of your spirit and thus chakra balancing can restore health.

History and Origin of Chakras

The chakra system was discovered in India more than 4000 years ago. We have many chakras but 7 major ones from the base of the spine to the top of our head.

Chakra is defined as a “wheel” in Sanskrit. ‘Nadis’ or channels intersect at these vortexes.

“A chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates and express life force energy.” –Anodea Judith

Significance of a Healthy Chakra System

Each chakra can be balanced, underactive, or overactive. It can be flowing at a healthy speed, stagnant, or blocked depending on our experiences, perspectives, and physical health. The chakra system is healthy when all 7 chakras are open, and balanced in size.

What in a Chakra?

What causes a Chakra blockage?

Numerous factors can throw a chakra out of alignment. Here are some signs of a chakra blockage:

  • Inability to process and release emotions
  • Physical symptoms
  • Muscle tension
  • Chronic health conditions
  • Relationship difficulties
  • Difficulty manifesting basic survival needs
  • Low emotional intelligence
  • Lack of connection with others, Source and intuition
  • Emotional sensitivity
  • Taking on others’ energies

Want to learn how to amplify the flow of Reiki, feel sensitive to energy, and intuitively perform a Byosen Scan? Join the free Empower the Reiki Healer Challenge and you’ll receive 5 free Reiki meditations.

Chakra Location

Each one of the 7 major chakras is associated with an area of the body; organs and glands. They pass through the physical body and communicate with the endocrine system and nervous system. Although you can’t see the spinning wheels, you may feel or visualize their presence in an energy healing session. 

The 1st chakra, Root Chakra, is located at the base of your spine. It’s associated color is red.

The 2nd chakra, Sacral Chakra, is located in the pelvic area. It’s associated color is orange.

The 3rd chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, is located at the center of your abdomen. It’s associated color is yellow. 

The 4th chakra, Heart Chakra, is located at the center of your chest. It’s associated color is green.

The 5th chakra, Throat Chakra, is located at the center of your throat. It’s associated color is blue. 

The 6th chakra, Third Eye Chakra, is located at the center of your forehead. It’s associated color is indigo. 

The 7th chakra, Crown Chakra, is located at the top of your head. It’s associated colors are violet and white. 

Chakra Themes Diagram

How can Chakra Balancing support me?

You may have already noticed the relationship between stress and your physical body. Perhaps nervousness leads to a sensitive stomach, or anger causes tightness in your chest. You may also notice the stress the results from symptoms, and health conditions. Balancing the chakra system can heal the underlying thoughts and emotions that physically manifest as disease. However, it’s benefits are not limited to the physical body.

Chakra balancing is a process of clearing blockages and bringing the chakras to flow at a healthy rate. The health of your chakras and energy field determine how you feel and experience your life’s situations. This work allows us to tend to our consciousness and learn the lessons that we are here to learn before they manifest in the form of illness or loss.

Balanced chakras allow for physical and emotional well-being. A change in energy patterns helps in numerous ways including:

Layers of Chakra Healing in the Human Body

Chakra Healing Techniques

You can maintain the health of your chakras with self-care of the mind and body. Tend to your energetic body with the following tips.

Chakra Music

Binaural beats and Solfeggio frequencies that correlate with the chakra system speak to the brain and nervous system in order to open the chakras. Simply sit back, press play, and allow the music to lead you. 

Chakra Affirmations

Positive statements strengthen neural pathways in the brain as well as the vortexes of our consciousness. Chakra Affirmations imprint high vibrational emotions into our mind and body over time. With repetition, these statements become ingrained and we naturally reach for these thoughts. 

Chakra Crystals

Crystals contain minerals and the energy of the Earth. While some crystals can help us ground, others help us transcend. You may work with these crystals in meditation or simply go to sleep with one under your pillow.  

Yoga for Chakra Balance

Yoga poses such as heart-openers, or backbends, create space in the physical body. The practice builds strength, and detoxes the endocrine glands, all of which allow for prana to rebalance. 

Essential Oils on Chakra Points

Essential Oils, concentrations of plants, carry a high-frequency that can be inhaled to direct the nervous system. Because they guide a part of the brain that stores emotions (limbic system), they are powerful in activating the chakras.

Pranayama (Breathe work) for Chakra Opening

The yogic tradition introduces breathing exercises for physical endurance, and calm. Kapalabhati, Ujjayi, and Nadi Shodana are some of the most popular pranayama exercises that you may use to cleanse your chakras.

Chakra Meditation for Beginners

You can visualize your 7 main chakras through a guided meditation journey. Visualize them expanding and becoming brighter. By breathing into each chakra, you will clear the emotions, memories, and chords that may be attached to them. 

Leave a Comment

book a virtual energy healing

Parita connects with clients around the world to share Reiki, Chakra, and Akashic Record healing. In a 60 minute call, you can discuss and clear energetic blocks that may be holding you back from physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing. Allow her to support you in awakening to your true light.

Grab Your Free Reiki-Infused Meditations