Introduction to the Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra Balancing - Meaning of the Heart Chakra - Energy Healing

Heart Chakra Sanskrit Name


Heart Chakra Color


Heart Chakra Element


Heart Chakra Frequency

639 Hz

Heart Chakra Mantra


Sense of the Heart Chakra


Demon of the Heart Chakra


Right of the Heart Chakra

To love and be loved

Heart Chakra Location and Glands

The Heart Chakra governs the heart, lungs, blood, rib cage, diaphragm, shoulders, breasts, arms and hands. The Thymus Gland is also a part of the 4th chakra.

Stressors of the Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is disturbed with neglect or abandonment. Rejection, as well as the ending of relationships, brings distress to the chakra.Relationships that lack faith or loyalty create disharmony here. It’s also hurt by the loss of a loved one and grief. If one has encountered rude behavior, unwelcoming attitudes, or the lack of nurture in childhood, he/she may have a depleted 4th chakra.

Signs of Physical Imbalance in the Heart Chakra

A weak Heart Chakra can present in the following ways

  • Heart Disease
  • Issues with the Lungs such as Asthma
  • Breast Cancer
  • Breathing difficulties, or heart palpitations
  • Shoulder aches, or rounded shoulders
  • Upper/mid-back pain
  • Circulation issues

How a Blocked Heart Chakra can Manifest into the Outer World

When we have an unbalanced Heart Chakra, the following can manifest

  • Inability to feel or express love
  • Narcissism
  • Depression, or feelings of loneliness
  • Inability to socialize
  • Withdrawn or feeling disconnected from others
  • Criticism, and judgement for yourself or others
  • Jealousy, bitterness or envy
  • Attachment issues especially in relationships
  • Codependency
  • Inability to uphold boundaries or overly sheltering boundaries
  • Apathy

Attributes of a Healthy Heart Chakra

When the Heart Chakra is spinning at a healthy rate, we

  • Able to draw empathy and compassion for ourselves and others
  • Feel balanced and calm
  • Feel loved and loving
  • Accept ourselves and others
  • Practice forgiveness
  • Feel gratitude and content
  • Are comfortable with giving and receiving physical affection
  • Can give and receive with generosity and ease
  • Optimistic
  • Release expectations around love
  • Can’t find meaning or joy in all that you do

Looking for your quick guide to balancing the 7 main chakras? Parita covers the exact crystals, essential oils, yoga poses, meditations, breathing exercises, and mindset shifts that nurture each chakra in her Chakra Cheat Sheets.

Heart Chakra Meaning

The meaning of a blocked, stagnant or weak chakra is that you are struggling with one of the functions of that chakra. See below to discover what your heart chakra can tell you about your consciousness.

What are you holding in your heart chakra? Share below!

Heart Chakra Theme - Heart Chakra Meaning